Reflections

A glimpse of the innocent days!!!

It was four in the evening and I was trying to figure out the album which contained my childhood pictures. After searching for some five minutes, the album landed on my arms.Quickly I closed the wardrobe and there I was in the garden to turn the pages of my sweet childhood.Each picture of mine reminded me of the good old days spent with my parents, the beautiful nature, my friendly neighbours and my caring teachers of the kindergarten.You might be wondering why I am saying all this. I was all set to visit the place where I had spent some of the most beautiful moments of my life. Guess what??? Yeah!! You are right!! My childhood days!!

The journey began the next morning. It took an hour to reach the place which I was longing to visit since many years.After I had boarded the bus,  my mind got flooded with a lot of questions: “ In what way the place would have changed?” , “ Will anybody recognize me there?” etc. The moment I got off the bus, a very special feeling crept into me. The ecstasy , the euphoria that engulfed me was beyond limits.It was quite a nostalgic moment.

It was the lake that I decided to visit first.I covered the distance on foot. The trees along the road seemed to be my old friends who were welcoming the grown-up girl who once merrily travelled that path as a small kid with numerous questions in her mind. After a walk of around 15 minutes, I was in front of a vast stretch of water. It was the quietness of that place which led to the slideshow of the pictures: How I used to run round and round chasing butterflies and sometimes staring at the sky to see the migratory birds coming in flocks and then clapping at them with the hope that one of them might come flying down to me.

I was deeply engrossed in these pleasant memories when my wristwatch fell down.

Tick!! Tick!! Tick!! It was exactly 12 noon and I had to move on to the next place.

This was the rabbit park. It had acquired a new look. In addition to the rabbits, there were well-managed flower beds and a small restaurant. I fed the innocent creatures some grass and enjoyed being in their company. It was now quarter to two. So lunch time!!! The small restaurant came to my rescue!! The next thing in my itinerary was the kindergarten school!!

There I was in the next half an hour in front the school gates.The gatekeeper enquired of me and he was pleased to know that I had been a student of that school and thus let me in.The playground, swings, see-saws were the same as they had been seventeen years back.Going down the memory lanes, this playground occupied a very special place in my heart. Though I could vaguely recollect the memories of playing on the swings, I suddenly felt myself being drawn to the swing again. But there I was a grown-up girl and not the small child who was standing there.

Here comes the difference in the perspectives of a grown up and a child. The innocence of children makes them get involved in anything they find amusing without giving a second thought. Gradually as we grow up, the pros and cons come first and then comes the thought of doing something.

With these thoughts, I headed towards the bus stop in order not to miss the bus back home. It was a visit worth it!! Not only did it bring back sweet memories but also made me thankful to everyone and everything who made the memories cherishable!!!

Leave a comment